Inklingo Projects

By Inklingo Quilters, For Everyone

Miniature Churn Dash

3 Comments

image2

Sandy made this fabulous miniature Churn Dash quilt using the Inklingo Log Cabin .50″ and Half Square Triangles OOB collections.

She writes:

“My Prairie Women’s Sewing Circle meets once a month at Quilt Heaven in Lambertville, Michigan. One of the projects is a miniature churn dash quilt with embroidered leaves and stems and button flowers. The instructions for this block use traditional methods of cutting and piecing. I have never been able to make my mini quilts come out right using this method, unless I foundation piece and that is so cumbersome. So lucky for me, Linda has created Inklingo! I searched through the Inklingo Index of Shapes and found I could make the churn dash blocks using Log Cabin .50″ and Half Square Triangles OOB. I can’t begin to tell you how thrilled I was to discover this. 🙂 Each block is three inches finished. I added 1/4 inch vertical sashing and 1/2 inch horizontal sashing plus borders. The mini finishes at 14.75″ x 18″. The entire mini was made using fabrics and items from my stash. It is hand pieced and hand quilted. The leaves and stems are hand embroidered. The buttons are 3 mm.”

image

This close-up shows the incredible detail in one little 3″ Churn Dash block.

3 thoughts on “Miniature Churn Dash

  1. So cute – I love it. jSusan

  2. Your little quilt is so beautiful.I love the centre blocks with the embroidery.

  3. Oh I completely and totally dig this!!! Great idea.

Leave a Reply

