Inklingo Projects

By Inklingo Quilters, For Everyone

Special Effects in the Castle Wall

3 Comments

photo (72)

Cathy in Tennessee is making these absolutely spectacular blocks using the Inklingo 9″ Castle Wall collection and one of the bonus shapes in that collection to achieve the kaleidoscope effect in the centres of her Castle Wall blocks.

She writes:

“I started this project just shortly after the collection became available, so I have been working on it around one month. I have 16 blocks completed and I just had to see how it was ‘shaping’ up, so I put them all down and took a photo. I have a way to go – my original intention was to make 81 blocks. Not sure if I will get that far with it, but I am really enjoying the process.

This is the 9″ inch collection, which I chose for the option of piecing the centre octagon in ‘kaleidoscope’ style.”

If you click on the picture to enlarge it, you can see the fabulous effects Cathy is getting with the kaleidoscope octagons.

3 thoughts on “Special Effects in the Castle Wall

  1. O, how clever to use the partial hexagons like that! It never occurred to me, viewing the shapes. It will make a fabulous quilt.

  2. Beautiful colors! Looks so warm and cozy.

  3. WOW! That is going to be one spectacular quilt! VERY nice!

Leave a Reply

